Morning Complaint, and Dehydration.

I believe that my hatred of mornings has been pretty well-established on this here blog. Nothing could have planted this seed any deeper than my absolutely horrid night’s sleep last night; so horrid, in fact, that I can now 100% sympathize with parents of newborns.

I am so tired that I sincerely entertained the idea of skipping practice sleeping in today. No way!, I told myself, and promptly started to blast The Distillers and make breakfast. I haven’t been on skates for a week– we didn’t have practice last weekend, and I think I aggravated my knee at the gym this week– so I’ve been taking it a bit easier than usual: no squats, no planks, no skates. Needless to say, today will kick my ass.

There are few things worse for highly active people than chronic sleep issues. Your body needs sleep to regenerate cells and to take care of other needs that it can’t get to during the day. This is a thousand fold for people of athletic dispositions.

This latest round of sleeplessness includes a weird cycle of dehydration, which makes me nervous for today’s practice. I have been using a mist humidifier for years (I used to have chronic nosebleeds during this time of year), but for the past week I have been waking up about once an hour with an unusually dehydrated mouth and nose. It has gotten to the point where my daily megaton of water and electrolytes don’t seem to be doing the trick, and to be honest, I’m getting nervous!

Hopefully it’s just temporary, and I’ll be able to nap after practice. A full review of today’s practice (and replies to recent comments on the blog!) will come this afternoon.

Leave a comment